Rioting – Bedlam Madness

Posted: January 30, 2012 in Medical, Morgue, Unusual Findings
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

 

A great degree of outrage was expressed about the rioting in London, people taking to the streets causing vast damages to cars, shops and property in general. In the 1780’s there was a London Riot that I believe was far worse in comparison, was this due to the care and conditions they were in or are we simply no good at organising a rebellion? We’re out of practise, we’re more civilised with our approach? Who knows but rioting, rebellion and other forms of protest about the place have really been a history of the world.

 

Outside Bedlam and inside, the controversy of the mentally ill do not just apply today. Registered private madhouses, publicly funded or care in the community how can the “insane” be cured? Speaking on a rarely personal level about this, I suffer depression, it comes in bouts, it can be extreme or mild. I can have the majority of the symptoms controlled by fluoxetine which also aids the companion to my depression, OCD. Most people that meet me say they cannot tell, I have to politely point out that unlike a missing arm, a blind eye to injury or an obvious disease with symptoms mental illness still faces good and bad days as an illness.

 

So let’s take it back a bit, with such a troublesome irk as myself who cannot possibly function without the intervention of a quack Bethlehem it is! Of course those “ignorant do-gooders” outside often thought there would be a better way to deal with it. Partly from fear of the unknown it’s pretty simple to think that everyone in a madhouse is literally sat there rocking, hair half pulled out, drawing over the walls with pens or blood and picking at scabs… yes the plight of the mad from a media sense really hit the news. Made all the more poignent by an attempt to burn down Bedlam to allow the “prisoners” out.

 

Some genuinely would have been misplaced, there is no argument there but others might be in need of being detained for their own good. When the rioters hit the streets all of this became background noise just like the recent riots. The effects on the mass populous and the damges to property, alongside controlling the situation take over.

 

So how did they fare?

 

The Gordon Riots – anti-Catholic riots that lasted for a week

 

  • 40-60,000 people involved
  • 285 rioters were killed
  • 173 injured
  • 139 arrested
  • 12 rioters were imprisoned
  • 25 people were hanged
  • 50 patients from Bedlam handed themselves in rather than face rioters
  • Estimated cost £180,000

 

The London 2011 Riots – Lasted Two nights in major effect, regards the shooting of 29yr old Mark Duggan

 

  • Arrests 1802
  • 1st Night, 310
  • People Charged 1032
  • 5 deaths
  • 16 injuries
  • 20800 emergency calls (no telephones in 1780) compared to average 5400 = 400% increase.
  • 2169 calls to the fire stations = 15 times normal amounts
  • Police injured = 44 on the Monday night
  • Minimum cost of the riots over 1 million pounds
  • Specific listed incidents numbered 160

And my next look is likely to be at the Ginhouses…

Comments
  1. Neil says:

    Mental illness is still far from been totally understood. When I was 16 I got a part-time job cleaning at a mental hospital in Hull, called De-La-Pole. I saw the entire spectrum of mental illness from an old man, who had suffered shell shock in the First World War, to young mothers – who simply couldn’t cope. The asylum was built in 1814, it was all big corridors and massive wards. It had its own chapel and mortuary – and oh joy that was one of my cleaning duties. On my first day I was told told most patients are harmless because of the medication but never let your guard down.

    This advice was good but after a while it becomes the norm to have people shuffle past in nightclothes and slippers and of course you do let your guard down. This happened to me when I felt hands grip me around my neck, I didn’t react immediately because the grip was so weak and fragile it was barely a tickle. An old man was trying to strangle me, why? Who knows, but I didn’t even have to push him off, just stepped back – he shouted many obscenities at me. I simple went and got a nurse who took him back to his ward. I often wondered what was in his mind when he looked at me that day…someone from his past who had done him some major wrong… I will never know.

Leave a Reply

