Welford Road Cemetery – my road trip

Posted: February 19, 2012 in Cemetery
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It started with a 75 pence purchase on ebay… a memorium card.

Inside the card I had her name, Alice C Lockton, the daughter of Mr & Mrs J E Mousley. She died in Paris in 1926 on August 20th at the young age of 39. All I had was a card and the chance of finding her listed at Welford Road Cemetery in Leicester, England.

Welford Road Cemetery is one of the typical Victorian cemeteries, sadly whilst many of the graves and the area itself has survived the original buildings no longer do. It is the 3rd oldest cemetery in the country and is still in use. It is a Listed Grade 2 English Heritage site for Parks and Gardens, and covers an impressive 31 acres.

The Friends Of Welford Road Cemetery proved to be absolutely amazing at assisting me, they gave me everything I needed to find the area I was looking for.

At the furthest away walk from the cemetery tucked up amongst other headstones sat Joseph Lockton who died 16th November 1918. The sad fact is the son of John Lockton died of pneumonia following wounds (gas) at the young age of 31.  He has a listed war grave memorial and in the same plot sits Alice Charlotte Lockton, his wife.

At first we had thought she wasn’t listed, I was content that we had at least found a trace to the little e-bay purchase but then as we moved away Alice had one last present to share.

Her grave was nearly missed as I had been so sure that my journey to find her had ended there but here it is. All I know is that Alice Charlotte Lockton died in Paris, August 20th 1926 and was brought back to England to be near her husband.

I wish I could have found out more about her life, I know that she married a gunner and that he died not long after the end of the war. If anyone ever does come across my post and could offer the information I would love to know more. All I have is a little piece of paper in my study but it is a reminder that someone out there lost a husband to a war, died in Paris but was returned to England and now sits part of the beautiful cemetery of Welford Road.

Here are the links to the Memorial information I could find: Announcements and Commonwealth War Graves Commission entry.

I also hope you enjoyed my little road trip find as much as I did going out to find it.

Thank you

Leave a Reply

