One of my favourite games with survival horror is Silent Hill, and one of the more famous icon monsters is Pyramid Head. He’s a fantastic icon for the Silent Hill game, specifically the second one, though I am prone to agree with critics that the poor guys got re-hashed too often due to fans.

James Sunderland is the main character who comes to town due to a letter from his dead wife. Pyramid Head himself is also known as “Red Pyramid Thing”, ‘Bogeyman’, ‘Triangle Head’ or in our house for a while it was ‘bucket head dude’.

He is there seemingly to represent James’ wish to be punished over his wife’s death. The creature that stalks him has no voice, no face and is a warped vision of torture in the town. The butcher’s apron and large knife he drags along, swinging in a cumbersome but deadly manner ensure that the fear factor runs high.

I’ll be honest with my comment here, that I feel Homecoming was the worst of the series. For me it just didn’t hold the same vibe and the over indulgent violence and combat detracted from the fear that drew me  in but one thing I did like is the way PH appeared. He appears as a cut scene through the Grant Hotel (an iconic spot in the games) and whilst there was no need to go to war with the thing the cut scene was pretty cool! However he is referred to as the Bogeyman not PH himself.

Gamespot placed him akin to the Leatherface antagonist from Texas Chainsaw Massacre. He is a hideous creature and made worse by the inability to attribute him to a human face. Outside of this comparison other comments that catch the eye are about a scene where the brutal rape of two other monsters appears, the idea of confronting this barbaric subject within the game seemed unsettling but again, remember, Silent Hill is based on nightmares.

I have included my speed paint of Pyramid head below but also surfed the net to find a good Pyramid Head cut scene. I hope you enjoy them.

Comments
  1. in home care says:

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you actually realize what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also seek advice from my web site =). We could have a hyperlink exchange contract among us

  2. Wow, this post is pleasant, my younger sister is analyzing such things, thus I am going
    to let know her.

Leave a Reply

